Mako Sica, “Land of the Bad” Day 4 Finale

The “Badlands” is a name that is kind of misleading.  A hundred years or so ago the name would have been fitting due to its harsh landscape and difficulty to travel through.  Today it’s different.  Today the name should be something like “Unforgettable-wild-beauty-land.”  Because that’s the truth.  Nobody that visits this place will forget it.

Even though I was heading home today, I felt like I needed one more experience to add to my memory bank.  Before I turned my tires towards home I pulled into the parking lot near the Notch Trail Head.  I’m so glad I did.

Looking Back at Notch Trail Head

The beginning of Notch Trail had me meandering through a valley, but the last half of the hike was high up along the canyon walls.  And here, there was only one way up!

A few hikers proceed along the canyon wall after climbing the ladder.

And the view from the top is worth the whole climb!

Watch your step!

Following Notch Trail along the canyon walls is worth ignoring any fear of heights.  The end of the trail will lead to one of the best views in Badlands National Park.

Here’s somewhat of a crappy panoramic video clip of the end of the hike view at Notch Trail:

Mako Sika has treated me paradoxically well.  “Land of the Bad,” is a place of wild beauty that I’ll never forget.  Thanks so much for following me on my journey through this incredible park!

Check out:

Day 1 / Day 2 / Day 3

5 thoughts on “Mako Sica, “Land of the Bad” Day 4 Finale

  1. Pingback: Mako Sica, “Land of the Bad” Day 1 « Lee Phelps Photography

  2. Pingback: Mako Sica, “Land of the Bad” Day 2 « Lee Phelps Photography

  3. Pingback: Mako Sica, “Land of the Bad” Day 3 « Lee Phelps Photography

Leave a Reply

