The Road is Calling

A restlessness pervades my soul.  This can’t be it.  There has to be more.  The road is calling… or is it a desire to escape adult responsibility?  Should I wait for opportunity, or go find it?  Am I acting like a parked RV?  This can’t be my purpose.  I have wheels, where is my trailer hitch?

If I sit, if I settle, am I forsaking my purpose?  I toss and I turn.  I hear the idiom: “The grass isn’t greener on the other side, it’s green where you water it.”  But my heart says, “there comes a point where if you water the same spot without moving, you’ll flood the grass and kill it.”

I cannot escape the calling of the road.  Will my hitch come and find me, or must I find it?

Leave a Reply

