The Rooftops of Gyeongbokgung

Ever since I can remember I’ve been drawn to composition.  Everything I ever made had to be symmetrical or the lines at least had to hold a harmonious balance.  It’s funny when I travel with my wife.  As we walk down the streets, I’m always looking at the lines of the architecture and how differing landscapes are composed.  While my wife on the other hand is always watching the people to see how they interact with one another…it’s the natural sociologist in her.

Case in point: we visited Gyeongbokgung Palace in downtown Seoul recently, and the majority of my photos had to do with the lines of the rooftops.  One of my favorite things about traditional Korean architecture are the rooftops.

It was a rainy day, so I’m sure that influenced my subject matter, but nonetheless, I love the swooping lines of each roof and the patterns created by the shingles.

Not to mention the colorful and detailed patterns of the overhangs.

Gyeongbokgung Palace was first built in 1394 by King Taejo, and once functioned as the center of the royal capital of Hanseong.  But subsequent invasions and wars have seen it burnt down and rebuilt more than once.

Even if you have four walls, you can’t survive the elements without a rooftop.

We’re not like the plants…we don’t thrive without shelter.

 

One thought on “The Rooftops of Gyeongbokgung

Leave a Reply

