Three Days by the Sea: Part 1

Busan is on the south eastern coast of Korea, the waters of the Korea Straight beat against its shores, while Japan is an overnight ferry ride from its port.  I always like going to the sea, no matter what country it may be.  Somehow life near the water always seems to take a more relaxed and natural pace than the busied and hurried environment of cement cities. The vastness of the sea has a way of reminding the subconscious of how small we are, and as we find our place in this infinite universe we can finally live within its rhythm.  Maybe that’s why the people of the sea seem to live at a more natural pace.

Note: click images for larger views.

Some of the best days are days where nothing is done but sitting on a beach chair, listening to the waves crash, and reading some good literature.  However, if you rarely move, even if under an umbrella, you’ll get some nasty uneven burns.  I’m still walking around with half tan legs.

Busan is Korea’s second largest city after Seoul, so even here you meet skyscrapers and miles of cement.  But it’s not hard to get away from it all.

For views unobstructed by glass and steel, and some seren views of the sea, make the trek over to Haedong Yonggungsa Temple. Here is one of the best places to get away from the hurried pace of central Busan.

One of my favorite places in Busan.  You just can’t beat Yonggungsa’s harmonious interplay of nature and man-made structures in Korea.

92 thoughts on “Three Days by the Sea: Part 1

    • Thanks! I’m not sure the name for the stacked stones, but I’ve seen them all over Korea at Buddhist temples, varying in size. I pretty sure they stack stones as a Zen meditation practice.

    • Thank you! I shoot with the Canon Rebel T1i (500D), and I use two different lenses: A Sigma 30mm f/1.4, and a wide angle Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. I usually shoot with a polarizer on bright sunny days, however for those two shots, it was near dusk so I was using no filters. I did however apply a few filters in Photoshop afterwards.

  1. Isn’t it amazing that South Korea is buidling like it’s going out of fashion while North Korea is trying to opress its people. It goes to show doesn’t it that people work better when they are free to chose for themselfves! GHreat post.

    • Thanks! I hear you. Korea went from a third world country to one of the wealthiest countries in a matter of fifty years while North Koreans are largely oblivious to the world around them and suffer greatly at the hands of their totalitarian government. However, it was recently announced that KFC and Coca Cola were going to be allowed to set up business in the NK capital. Maybe the winds of change are coming.

  2. Great pics! You have really made me miss my 2nd home, Korea. I lived there for 9 1/2 years and had many opportunities to enjoy the beauty of Pusan (I guess they are officially calling it “Busan” now, huh?!) as my last 3 years in South Korea were not that far away in Pohang. Thanks for capturing such gorgeous photos and giving me a longing to return! 🙂 Kamsahapnida! Hanamim Chook bokhayo!

    • Thanks! In your time here I bet you got to see a lot of great places. We’ve been here a year and a half, but signed on to stay longer. We only planned to stay a year, but we can’t seem to get enough! Haha.

  3. You have caused me to want to travel. Can you do a feature on the local food and where it is best to stay? That would be a great follow up to this. Amazing photos. Thank you so much for sharing with me.

    • Thank you! I will be doing a post soon on a recent pork-rib galbi meal we had, so stay posted! As far as the best places to stay, it really comes down to personal preference and budget. We’re budget travelers because we’re not as interested in the amenities of where we stay so we can see more places. We usually stay in a hostel or guesthouse in the city or country that we visit so we can travel cheap. I always do my research and read reviews before hand on tripadvisor.com

  4. So, I used to live in South Korea, so your blog really caught my eye. Great pics of Busan! Your blog post brought back a lot of memories for me. I just moved back to America last year. Are you teaching English in Korea?

  5. This is a great post! I know you’re probably joking, but I’m a writer and Bravo addict, so I would be all about “America’s Next Top Author”!

  6. Pingback: Three Days by the Sea: Part 1 (via Till We Have Faces…………………………) « It's impossible to be unhappy on a skateboard.

  7. Pingback: Three Days by the Sea: Part 1 (via Till We Have Faces…………………………) « Dewindriyani

  8. Wow, your photos are amazing! My favorite is the panoramic. I don’t think of Korea when I think of a beautiful beach getaway; I’m always excited to find out about beautiful vacation spots in other countries.

  9. Love the pictures! 🙂 I have an addiction to korean dramas, so this post really just add to some of the great sights i’ve already seen via the kdramas of course. Someday, I’ll come visit Korea.

  10. Gorgeous photos. I love the way the beach curves instead of just being a straight line of sand. I know what you mean about wanting to get away from it all, but I’d kind of have fun knowing that I was on the beach while people were working across the water from me. Schadenfreude I guess;) Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  11. Beautiful pictures, I’ve always wanted to go there.

    And living near the sea is really relaxing, don’t know if I’m saying that because I’ve always lived by the sea or not.. Regardless, its amazing, being able to go down to the sea whenever you want, especially if you have a boat:)

  12. Your mom is always amazed at the beauty you capture in pictures. Thanks for sharing your eyes with her, she is extremely proud of you, and Jill of course. XO Mom

Leave a Reply

