If you are a poor creature…

I have been a C.S. Lewis fan from the first moment I picked up the first book I ever read by him. Years ago, “Mere Christianity” captivated my imagination and opened my heart further to God. Recently, I came across a quote from “Mere Christianity” that I found to be incredibly encouraging. It goes like this:

“But if you are a poor creature–poisoned by a wretched upbringing in some house full of vulgar jealousies and senseless quarrels–saddled, by no choice of your own, with some loathsome sexual perversion–nagged day in and day out by an inferiority complex that makes you snap at your best friends–do not despair. He knows all about it. You are one of the poor whom He blessed. He knows what a wretched machine you are trying to drive. Keep on. Do what you can. One day (perhaps in another world, but perhaps far sooner than that) He will fling it on the scrap-heap and give you a new one. And then you may astonish us all–not least yourself: for you have learned your driving in a hard school. (Some of the last will be first and some of the first will be last.)”

We all are broken. I know I am especially. But the grace of God keeps me going day in and day out. On good days and bad ones. In days of obedience, and in days of failure, God’s grace keeps me. His grace keeps us all.

C.S. Lewis’ words have often lifted and encouraged my embattled soul. He says in some of his collected letters:

“I know all about the despair of overcoming chronic temptations. It is not serious provided self-offended petulance, annoyance at breaking records, impatience etc doesn’t get the upper hand. No amount of falls will really undo us if we keep on picking ourselves up each time. We shall of course be very muddy and tattered children by the time we reach home. But the bathrooms are all ready, the towels put out, & the clean clothes are in the airing cupboard. The only fatal thing is to lose one’s temper and give it up. It is when we notice the dirt that God is most present to us: it is the very sign of His presence.” (Collected Letters, Volume II, p. 507.)

I hope these words are as encouraging to you as they are to me.

I’ve been dwelling on these quotes for some time, but I don’t want to take all the credit for the thoughts in this post. I recently read a wonderful blog post by Will Vaus that inspired these thoughts. Take a look here.

2 thoughts on “If you are a poor creature…

Leave a Reply

