A Quick Summary of the Last month….

Hey all!

I’m really sorry that it’s been over a month since my last post. Life has been a blur. I’m going to try to get better about updating my blog more often. To save you the hassle of reading every detail of the last month of my life (not that you would read it all anyway), I will give you a quick summary…here goes…

The regular school semester ended the second week of July. I was given a week in advance to turn in all my curriculum for the two-week English camp I had to design and lead. It was A TON of work, but it turned out great :-). If anything it will look good on a resumé!

Camp was over, now bring on two weeks of vacation! It was the first two weeks of paid vacation we’ve ever had, so that was niceuh (how some Koreans pronounce nice). Our first week off, we moved into our new apartment! We got booted off KNU’s campus to a downtown locale. We really like our tiny Korean-style apartment on the 17th floor!

Thursday and Friday of our first week we spent in Seoul. Stayed in a hostel. It was nice. Traveled A LOT on the metro. Went to: N. Seoul Tower (high on Namsan Mt.), California Pizza Kitchen (tasty), Forever 21 (I had no choice), What The Book (an all English book store, yea!), On the Border (best meal in 6 months), Namdaemun Market (oldest market in Korea: dates to 1414!!), Gyeongbokgung Palace (big ol’ palace where the king used to live), and Insadong (an artsy fartsy area). Whew.

Then we came home for the weekend and Monday.

Tuesday through Friday we took the bullet train to Busan.

We: stayed in a hostel (owners were nice), had to share a bathroom with other guests (not so nice). On Tuesday we went to Gwangalli Beach (kinda dirty, but has a huge white bridge near it), hiked Igidae Coastal Walkway (awesome trail on a mountainous coast). On Wednesday it rained (crappy), so we went to Busan Museum of Modern Art (saw a creepy teddy bear sculpture covered in pig skin), explored Shinsegae Centum City (supposedly the biggest department store in the world-i have my doubts), and saw “Step Up 3D” at the cinema (Jill’s idea–cool dancing, but the 3D gave me a headache). On Thursday the sun was shining (woot woot (this is a sound of excitement)), so we went to Haeundae Beach (a million people decided to come along), and then we explored Haedong Yonggunsa Temple (beautiful Buddhist temple built on the cliffs over-looking the ocean). Friday was stinky (because we went to Jagalchi Fish Market (huge and entertaining)), then we shopped and got Jill some hiking shoes (for our two-day Great Wall hike in September!) !!!!

Oh, and I started reading “The Divine Conspiracy” by Dallas Willard. I finished “Three Cups of Tea” by Greg Mortenson (I highly highly recommend this to anyone who cares about humanitarian aid in Pakistan and Afghanistan), and “A Grief Observed” by C.S. Lewis (his journals from when his wife died).

Today (Monday 16) I started a week-long English camp that I’m helping teach (along with many other teachers) at Sun Moon University, then 2nd semester starts on Monday!

P.S. On a strange note: we saw a lady wipe her dog’s butt after it pooped near Gwangalli Beach. That’s a first.

Here are a few pics from our time in Seoul (I’m still working on the Busan pics) If you want to download any, go to my flickr page!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “A Quick Summary of the Last month….

  1. Hey Andy,

    I love, love, love to read your posts and see all your pics!!! It is exciting to read about all your adventures. AND I’m so glad you get to experience all that…what a blessing. HOWEVER, I do miss you guys a lot.
    Love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

